Drop Menu Website Template

Hello There, Guest! Register

Definitions please
06-17-2012, 01:10 PM
Definitions please
I'm still new to KittyCats and jumping around on the forum has been very helpful as well as finding Saga's docs on traits and such (thank you Saga Big Grin) but I am also getting confused by some of the terms I keep seeing when breeders are talking or sharing their stories. One word I keep seeing is "back breeding" and I'm curious as to what exactly that means. Which brings me to another point, suggestion or whatever else someone may call it. I know KittyCats does a fine job on handing out a "welcome newcomers" kit of notecards and such and I'm thinking maybe they could be updated with some more in depth info like where to find Saga's docs and definitions for words newcomers are bound to see; like I didn't know what OS/os was for while and yet I kept seeing it tossed around when describing a cat or the shorthand used for the furs on cats. Please do not misunderstand this post, it is not a rant or bash or meant to be anything negative, it is simply the input of a newcomer who has been wonderfully helped by a loving community and is just sharing some ideas for new breeders that would make the experience even more enjoyable from the start. Thank you again to you all for your insight and the time and work everybody puts into everything wonderful here at KittyCats. You guys rock Big Grin

Big Grin Kitty Cats Are Like Potato Chips, You Can Never Have Just One Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Thanks given by: Kitty Otoole
06-17-2012, 02:05 PM (This post was last modified: 06-17-2012 02:07 PM by anna Acanthus.)
RE: Definitions please
Hi tatiana,
A breed back is essentially the pairing of an offspring with it's parent or grandparent in order to see what is hidden or try to pull certain traits back out. Another term we use for this is "kittycsest " Big Grin.