KittyCatS! Community Forum

Full Version: Newbie post
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
If we get all starter/genesis to begin with... why should be not breed starter to starter? Again, I am new to this... Please be kind *meow*
Only because you have a lot more genesis traits to work with when you do that. It lowers the odds of a non-genesis trait showing and makes it harder to determine which cat a trait came from. But if you like one of those starter traits or you don't care about variety in the offspring, don't let that stop you.

With any trait (for any parents except Confetti), each offspring has a 75% chance of showing what one of the parents shows (so there's a 25% chance that the offspring will show one parent's hidden), and of that 75%, a one third chance of inheriting the showns from both parents. If you are fond of one of those shown, that's fine. But if you are not, it may eventually get frustrating.
Breeding with a cat that has more recessive traits and then comparing the outcomes using the charts (Do you know about Saga's charts & breeding docs: http://kittycats.biz/forum/showthread.php?tid=2351) can help you reveal your cats' hidden traits. You might find some treasures!
It is about dominance. MsMagick brought up the Saga's chart which helps you to determine dominance.

Each parent has 1 shown and 1 hidden per trait (fur, eyes, tail, ears, whiskers)
Each parent passes 1 to the child
The child gets 2, 1 from each parent -- the 1 that shows will be the most dominant one, so the hidden 1 is the most recessive one

So if you start breeding to get certain results, remember 2 rules
1 + 1 = 2 (1 from each parent)
Dominant is always on top (most dominant shows)
Genesis traits are the most dominant traits. Starter cats show all genesis traits but they hide nongenesis traits.
it's like the brown eyes and blue eyes stuff you learned in high school

Example with fur